painyJoin us Thursday evening May 21, 2015 at 6:30 pm CST!

ECT ECT scene from ‘One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest’

4:30 pm PST … 5:30 pm MST … 6:30 pm CST … 7:30 pm EST

Listen live HERE!

Call in # 917-388-4520

____________________________________________________________________

Hosted by Marti Oakley

In coordination with Citizens Commission on Human Rights (cchr.org) we continue our expose’ of the human rights violations conducted under the auspices of “mental health”.  Tonight’s guest experienced first-hand the inhumane testing of electroshock as a very small child.

Shock treatment is one of the most brutal practices in psychiatry, and ending it would not be just a little reform. A hundred thousand people every year in the United States are shocked, and there are millions of people here and around the world who have had it. An end to shock treatment would prevent the ruin of thousands of lives, and would be an important achievement for our human rights movement.  Ted Chabasinski

BIO:

tedTed Chabasinski is an attorney and human rights activist in Berkeley, California. In 1944, as a 6-year-old boy so intellectually gifted he jumped from first grade to third he was taken from his foster home in the Bronx to New York’s Bellevue Hospital where he was pronounced “schizophrenic”, because his mother had been labelled “schizophrenic”. There he began a series of 20 electro-convulsive shock treatments. The boy, Ted Chabasinski, was one of hundreds of children used in ECT experiments. Tests since condemned as barbaric. He remained an inmate in a state psychiatric hospital until the age of seventeen. Chabasinski survived and became active in the civil rights movement and ultimately an attorney.

Chabasinski led a successful effort to ban ECT in the city of Berkeley, California, in 1982, which voters overwhelmingly passed, only to be overturned by well-funded psychiatric interests.

In January 2007 Chabasinski acted as the attorney for the late psychiatric survivor activist and author Judi Chamberlain, the medical journalist and author of Mad in America and Anatomy of an Epidemic, Robert Whitaker, and the director of MindFreedom International David Oaks in opposing a motion by Eli Lilly to extend an injunction to conceal documents that revealed that the company had known for the previous decade of the potentially lethal effects of Zyprexa ( an antipsychotic )and had engaged in an illegal off-label marketing campaign.

As a patients’ rights lawyer, Chabasinski continues to champion human rights, and writes, speaks, and blogs on issues of individual rights and freedoms.

Most recently, he has organized an International Day of Protest Against Shock Treatment, being held on May 16, 2015. There will be demonstrations in many countries and cities around the world.

________________________________________________________________________

**TS Radio is now also heard on AMFM247 Broadcasting Network now heard in 5 cities across the US. These cities include:

Tampa, FL (102.1 FM and 1630 AM),

Las Vegas, NV (1520 AM and 107.1 FM),

Lancaster, PA (102.1 FM & 1640 AM),

Macon, GA (98.3 FM & 810 AM) and now

Boulder, CO (100.7 FM).

___________________

To contact us:  ppj1@hush.com

____________________________________________________

http://www.blogtalkradio.com/marti-oakley/2015/05/21/ted-chabasinski-barbaric-electroshock-still-used-on-adults-amp-children

Advertisements